top of page

Early Career Researchers’ Symposium – Solar Fuels: moving from materials to devices

6th July 2015, Imperial College London

The International Discussion Meeting was preceded by a free early career researchers’ symposium on 6 July held at Imperial College London.  In this meeting PhD students and post-docs had the opportunity to present and discuss their research in an informal, friendly environment.

Elizabeth Gibson from Newcastle University was a guest speaker at the symposium. She gave a talk titled “Dye-sensitized Photocathodes for Solar Fuel Devices”.


Prizes for the best talk and poster

The Solar Fuels Network would like to congratulate the prize winners!


Franky Bedoya won the prize for the best talk and received £100 book voucher to Royal Society of Chemistry

Best Poster Award


Best Poster Award


You can read the reports of this meeting and the International Discussion Meeting from PhD students and postdocs who received SFN travel bursaries here.

Organising Commitee


Dr Anna Hankin


A research associate in the Electrochemical Engineering group at Imperial College, working with Prof. Geoff H. Kelsall on photo-electrochemical micro- and macro-kinetics, as well as on reactor design and characterisation.

Dr Laia Francas


Laia has been a post-doc in the Durrant group since February 2015, where she investigates electron transfers between molecular catalysts and the semiconductors to improve their photoactivity in the water splitting reaction.

Dr Steph Pendlebury


Steph is Project Manager of the Solar Fuels Network, and a post-doc in the Durrant Group. She investigates charge carrier dynamics in metal oxide photoanodes using laser spectroscopy and photoelectrochemical techniques.

Ms Linnea Luuppala


Linnea is part of the Energy Futures Lab team at Imperial College, and supports Steph in running the Solar Fuels Network. She has a Masters in Philosophy from the University of Helsinki.

bottom of page